Frequently Asked Questions
What are the grounds for divorce in Massachusetts?
Divorces listing fault are rare, but do include grounds of cruel and abusive treatment, adultery, and abandonment. Please contact an experienced Worcester divorce attorney from Kovacs Law, P.C. for more information and how we may be able to help you.
Is Massachusetts a no-fault divorce state?
If your marriage does not currently meet any of the above-mentioned grounds for divorce, you can still file for divorce in Massachusetts as a no-fault divorce. No-fault divorces can be filed under the grounds of an "irretrievable breakdown" in the marriage.
How much does a divorce cost?
The final cost in a divorce case varies widely and depends upon the amount of attorney time the client uses. In cases where there is high conflict between spouses, as may occur in issues of spousal support as well as anything to do with children, i.e., child support, child custody, and visitation issues, and in cases where there are significant and complex assets to divide, the cost is considerably higher than in cases with substantially lower assets and where there is an agreement between the spouses.
How long before my divorce is final?
After both parties have signed the Separation Agreement, the court will set a hearing date in 2-6 weeks and you can expect your divorce to be final between 3-4 months after the court date. If your case goes to trial, however, you may not receive your divorce for 2 years or even longer.
Is there a residency requirement for a divorce in Massachusetts?
Yes. A party may file for divorce in our state after residing here for at least one year. If a couple was married here but neither spouse lives in the state currently, it is unlikely that a divorce filing would be permitted.
Please contact a Worcester divorce lawyer at Kovacs Law, P.C., if you have questions regarding divorce.